Dinner

Stats and stuff in the morning. Just got in from a fantastic dinner with the folks from VanEck. They are the issuers of two of our quality products, SLX and EVX.

Those of you who have known me over the years recognize that I am not generally a night owl and that I have never used evening entertainment as a means to gain business. That being said, tonight was the second VanEck gala that I have attended in the last 2 months. The dinner was fantastic-probably a little refined and cultured for this old Irish palate-but I can still recognize quality and good taste when it is placed in front of me. I even recognized that the presentation of each dish was truly refined.

Unfortunately the variety of wines was beyond me. My taste buds are able to differentiate between Coke, Pepsi and Royal Crown Cola but little else. I am a Coke addict, only drinking Pepsi in hotels and airlines that serve nothing else. The RC is a left over from my days at Fort Benning when I received a weekly free case of RC from the local distributor in return for allowing him to place machines in the barracks in my charge. With a base pay of $202 a month, the RC was my extravagance.

Many thanks to Jan and all at VanEck. Great meal, interesting company and a very worthwhile evening. I would do it again–but only if we get more product. Of some interest was Jan’s extensive knowledge and interest in college football. Who would have thunk it.

1 Response to “Dinner”


  1. 1 stephen o'grady November 29, 2006 at 10:54 am

    “Those of you who have known me over the years recognize that I am not generally a night owl and that I have never used evening entertainment as a means to gain business.”

    i believe that’s the understatement of the year 😉


Leave a Reply

